08
Apr
06

114456171081772923

Okay, here’s the Sockapaloooza update. I frogged back my other pattern, and I feel like I have knit up to the length I was at before, but I still have frogged yarn, so I’m guessing this pattern takes up less yarn? (I know, duh, it’s just interesting to me, unless I’m guesstimating where I was incorrectly.) But the good news is this chevron pattern is much faster than the lace pattern because I don’t have to read my notes every five seconds to see where I’m supposed to be. The only problem is that I’ve been having trouble getting the pattern to work correctly. Here’s the weird thing — when I knit the pattern as written, it looks great on the wrong side, but not as good on the right side. So I thought I flipped the pattern over, but it isn’t looking the same as last time. For example:

k3 p5 k3 p1

became

p3 k5 p3 k1

That should be the wrong side that I like, right? Maybe it’s the variegation that is throwing me off. I’m using Knit Picks Sock Garden in Zinnia, because my sock pal likes bright colors, and even though I am not an orange and yellow fan I do really like this yarn and am angry that so far I haven’t seen this color scheme back. I heard that Knit Picks was ending some of their sock lines and merging them into a new one, but that damned “Red Hat” color is still around (you need a better red based color!) and “Zinnia” is nowhere to be found! I just might have to move to that Cherry Tree Hill new color, that looks similar. Has anyone out there knit with Cherry Tree Hill and Socks that Rock? Because you know I am unhappy with knitting with Socks that Rock and Cherry Tree Hill feels a bit like the Socks that Rock so I’m worried it will hurt my hands like STR does (but at least their red will be red, not pink and purple …) Basically, I’m looking for a comparison.

Oh why didn’t I knit my Sockapaloooza socks for the Knitting Olympics? Because then I’d be done now … (I’m enjoying it, but stressed out about the timing.)

5 Responses to “114456171081772923”


  1. April 9, 2006 at 6:58 am

    I’ve heard great things about CTH, but I’ve also heard that the colors fade…

  2. April 9, 2006 at 8:39 am

    The pattern that you’re using – have you converted a pattern from knit flat to knit in the round?

    If that’s the case, then on the wrong side rows you not only have to swap K’s for P’s and vice-versa – you have to reverse the order of the stitches.

    So your wrong side row that you converted as “p3 k5 p3 k1” should actually be “k1 p3 k5 p3”.

    Give that a try and see if it fixes things.

    Of course, if the conversion from flat to circular knitting isn’t what you’re talking about, then I’m wrong and you should ignore me. 🙂

  3. April 9, 2006 at 9:01 am

    ruh roh…hope this does not mean more ripping. I bought a bunch of the of the Cherry Tree Hill but I haven’t knit with it yet. I am planning to do my Lorna’s Laces first, then the CTH. Have fun in Oakland!!

  4. April 9, 2006 at 8:05 pm

    Cherry Tree Hill is based on Louet Gems, the same as Koigu (KPPPM). If you like Koigu’s feel, you will probably like CTH.

  5. 5 Anonymous
    April 11, 2006 at 7:35 am

    Jennifer is right, if my limited experience is anything to go by. Beautiful vibrant CTH red, orange, yellow and black colourway, when washed, turned into murky orangey-brownish blob. Still cushy though.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

April 2006
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

