04
Apr
06

114417493879025720

Dene is my Secret Pal! You might remember the gorgeous, extravagant package she sent me in March, well I got another! She sent me some gorgeous Mountain Colors yarn, Meg Swansen’s Knitting, some handmade stitch markers (I love handmade stitch markers!) and a really interesting yarn cutter I hadn’t seen before. Thank you so much Dene!

Also, Juls asked about the Susan Bates Sock Needle Set and length, and that ties into what I wanted to post about today anyway. Since I have been knitting at one of my LYS, Full Thread Ahead, I have had the opportunity to try out lots of new ways of knitting socks. Well not new ways per se, but new tools. Because they are all so different, I was thinking about reviewing them here.

Last night I decided to try out the Bryspun 7.5 inch double pointed needles. I haven’t knit with them much but I’m not too impressed with them. They are made with plastic, and I bought size 7s (but I have noticed this with the smaller sizes as well) so in order to get the point a bit more pointy, they have it pare down for a long time. What I’m trying to say is that in 7.5 inches of needle, you probably have 5 inches of needle and 2.5 inches of point. It makes it really hard to get your yarn to the correct size while knitting since the point is so long. They aren’t really expensive, though, maybe half the price of Crystal Palace dpns, so if you have a short project or a small project they might be useful, but I don’t think I would buy them again.

3 Responses to “114417493879025720”


  1. April 4, 2006 at 2:08 pm

    I’ve been wondering about the Bryspun DPNs. I see what you mean about the points.

  2. April 5, 2006 at 4:26 am

    This is interesting I’ll have to take more notice of what I buy from now on.
    There is a pretty poor choice of needles down here.
    But I never actually thought about the structure of them.

  3. April 5, 2006 at 1:36 pm

    wow, your lys looks SO comfy! pretty cool. what are these other methods for making socks that you are learning?


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

April 2006
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

