02
Apr
06

114403749552223883

I hate Ebay but I love PayPal and I love JoAnn [Fabrics]!

Last week in my yarn induced haze I bid on two items on Ebay and the transaction and seller turned out to really suck. And of course you can’t contact a real person at Ebay, they’re just there to take your money, right?

Well, much of my frustration with that was helped by my just receiving my money back from PayPal due to my also bad transaction with Yarnia.com (basically I never got the items and I never got any response to my email and phone call). I am so happy that they were able to resolve that for me. I will definitely be using PayPal in the future.

I also had a great experience at JoAnn. About three years ago we moved, and we used to live up the street from JoAnn. Unfortunately I wasn’t into knitting then, and I only visited rarely to do some sewing related purchases. So then we moved, I got back into knitting, and I was really upset that I could no longer walk to a crafts store! Well, actually Michael’s is 2 miles away, which is walkable, but I don’t often walk 4 miles to support causes I’m against and buy craft supplies. I signed up with JoAnn’s mailing list and received two 40% off coupons, so I figured I would stop by and pick something up. They sell their Lion Brand Micro Spun for about $1 less than Michael’s so I figured at least I could get some of that to finish my sweater.

I walk into JoAnn’s, find the Micro Spun, but I also find a great Susan Bates and others knitting needle collection! Grumperina is always touting the Susan Bates Sock Set and I was going to order it online but I didn’t want to pay the shipping. My local JoAnn’s actually has it in stock!!! So I got the set on Friday and now have my own size 000, 00, 0, and 1 sock needles for $5! Did I mention that, unlike Michael’s, they have small sized circular needles and dpns in stock? (Actually, Michael’s doesn’t even carry them!) I hope I continue to get 40% off coupons from them, but either way, I’ll be back, although I have to drive there now.

I can’t wait (well, maybe I can) to knit up some socks on size 000 needles!

9 Responses to “114403749552223883”


  1. April 2, 2006 at 10:15 pm

    Too funny you posted about Joann’s cuz I was just there tonight! I picked up some Easter stuff and a cute skirt pattern. I’m on the mailing list and get the 40% off coupons every two weeks. As long as you use the coupons or have them scan your flier once a month, you’ll keep getting the 40% off coupons.

  2. April 2, 2006 at 10:37 pm

    That is great news! I wish it was every week, but I can wait if they stay stocked up!

  3. April 2, 2006 at 10:38 pm

    I LOVE those JoAnn coupons! Do you know that Michael’s and Beverly’s accept each other’s coupons too? So, if you see something in the other stores, actually you can use the JoAnn coupons. I have never ordered from Yarnia before … so it’s good to know about your experience.

  4. April 3, 2006 at 9:13 am

    I just love those coupons.

    What sock yarns knit up on size 000 needles? I’ve seen that set a few times but can’t imagine knitting with anything that small.

  5. April 3, 2006 at 11:02 am

    I was thinking maybe laceweight yarn. I currently have on the needles some laceweight doubled on size 0s so maybe 000 would be good if it was just one strand. Otherwise, I have no idea!

  6. April 3, 2006 at 12:28 pm

    I’ve done some beaded jewelry that called for 0000 needles and I used the 000 needles from that set and they were just fine. They are itty-bitty!!

  7. April 3, 2006 at 12:47 pm

    I love the susan bates sock set as well. Fab needles. Joann’s is awesome for needles!

  8. April 3, 2006 at 3:10 pm

    Thank you for stopping by my blog! I could use a sock set like that. but I’d have to order from online because the nearest Joann is 8 bucks away in transit, and if I’m going to pay that I might as well order some other stuff and pay shipping. But I love those coupons!

  9. April 4, 2006 at 10:51 am

    I’ve seen that sock needle set, but I’ve wondered if they were too long? Seems like most ppl favor the shorter needles. I lack the sock experience to have a preference yet!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

April 2006
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

