30
Mar
06

114377563916009396

Hollis is such an enabler 😉 — when I was knitting at her store on Monday I asked about this gorgeous Cherry Tree Hill Twister yarn and whether it would be around when I finally got to the discount she gives — after you spend $200 at Full Thread Ahead you get a coupon for $10 off your next purchase. She did tell me I’m not at the discount (phew …), but that I’d better grab the Cherry Tree Hill now because they are their biggest distributor on the West Coast, and the creator is dyeing yarn just for their store now, so it might not be there when I got around to buying it (long story short …)

This reminded me of another story. When I used to take banjo lessons at Fifth String, I was eyeing a black electric banjo. I told Phyl, my teacher, that I was interested in it, but I would just buy the next one they got. Of course she told me that “someone else was interested” and they wouldn’t get another one in, and I was hooked. So about 10 years ago I became the proud owner of a black electric banjo. I’ve never played it, because I don’t have an amp!

I am very anti-hype, so when a lot of people do things I am against doing it on principle, but tell me something is “rare” and I jump at it. Case in point the 10 skeins of Lion Brand Cotton Ease in Pineapple that I had no real use for, and am currently hoping to finish up by knitting Sitcom Chic for my MIL.

Anyway, I went down to FTA today and picked up the Cherry Tree Hill. And of course while I was there I had to pick up some Dale of Norway Helio that they had on sale – they somewhat match, even. Isn’t this CTH gorgeous?! Definitely worth sitting in my stash until I can find a use for it — I just hope it doesn’t get filed with my electric banjo …

(Damned Blogger)

2 Responses to “114377563916009396”


  1. March 31, 2006 at 7:01 am

    Oh man… I have to avoid going to my LYS for similar reasons. I love my LYS owner, but talking to her is so bad for the budget.

  2. March 31, 2006 at 3:18 pm

    Great blog, I see you have found another use for blogs. If you want to check out mine, go to http://freemarcon.blogspot.com/ and leave a comment if you find anything interesting. Would love to hear from y’all.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

  • @murrayv @jimmy_dore @mentalpod Great episode! 3 of my favorite comedians/podcasters on the same stage! 1 week ago
  • RT @GeorgeTakei: The lack of any outrage over the use of private emails by Trump's closest advisors shows that it never never was about her… 1 week ago
  • RT @TheGoodGodAbove: A week has passed since the Las Vegas massacre of 58 people. The USA has done nothing and is no longer talking about… 1 week ago
  • They did it *again*! @bigbangtheory's "scientists" said that "we" (Bernadette and Howard) are pregnant? That is not physically possible!!!! 3 weeks ago
  • @TheGoodGodAbove God, why did you make people that refuse to remember even a few years ago? Or can't open a history book? Or the internet? 1 month ago
March 2006
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

