21
Mar
06

114300659927329923

I am the laziest person alive. I just finished sock #2 of my Jaywalkers (I’m done with my Olympics project!!!!!) and put it on and realized, well, should I tell you what I did wrong or just let you think that they are just fine and there were no problems and I’m going to make 50 more of them (semi-inside joke)?

One big problem — for some reason the ribbing on the second sock is way too stretchy/stretched out and is actually uncomfortable. But I’ll be damned if I’m ripping the whole sock out and restarting. My first sock looked funny when I was knitting it but it ended up fitting fine so I thought this one would too. And last time I started with size 1 1/2 dpns, then down to 0s then up to 1s and ultimately to size 1 circular needles. (No, I didn’t frog, just kept on knitting.) This time it was always size 1 circular needles and the ribbing is really stretched out. The sock is hard to get on but looks nice enough unless I take a picture which brightens it up and makes it more obvious that I have a big hole in the gusset part. You know, that standard sock knitting hole.

So without further ado … my version of the Jaywalker sock in Socks that Rock Ruby Slippers (way to Easter eggy for me and not Ruby slippery enough, but I digress) …

I wasn’t in the Jaywalker KAL and I didn’t find too much information on what yarn and needle size everyone was using, but I think Lu was and she gave me some great ideas for those next 49 pairs of Jaywalkers: apparently people are doing a picot edge on top rather than ribbing, and instead of the KFB increases they’re doing a k1 yarnover and I think that would be easier and more fun than the pattern as written.

So here’s what I’m going to do. I’m going to knit through all my sock yarn and every published pattern I like, then create a few sock patterns of my own, and then when I’ve exhausted all other sock pattern ideas, I’ll make more Jaywalkers. And when I do I will definitely do a yarnover instead of a KFB increase and perhaps tackle the picot edges. Check back with me in about 10 years.

P.S. There are so many sock KALs going on right now and I’m in many of them, so these count for: Knitting Olympics, Sock Team USA, Turtles KAL, Red Hot Sizzling Socks, 200Sox and Sock A Month Knitalong!

4 Responses to “114300659927329923”


  1. March 22, 2006 at 6:51 am

    Oh, I hadn’t heard of that mod for the Jaywalker. That would make it easier…

  2. March 22, 2006 at 4:39 pm

    and they’re red so they count for Project Spectrum too 🙂

  3. March 28, 2006 at 6:01 am

    Great Jaywalkers! And dang, you can’t beat a six-in-one KAL qualifier pair of socks! Cool


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

  • @murrayv @jimmy_dore @mentalpod Great episode! 3 of my favorite comedians/podcasters on the same stage! 1 week ago
  • RT @GeorgeTakei: The lack of any outrage over the use of private emails by Trump's closest advisors shows that it never never was about her… 1 week ago
  • RT @TheGoodGodAbove: A week has passed since the Las Vegas massacre of 58 people. The USA has done nothing and is no longer talking about… 1 week ago
  • They did it *again*! @bigbangtheory's "scientists" said that "we" (Bernadette and Howard) are pregnant? That is not physically possible!!!! 3 weeks ago
  • @TheGoodGodAbove God, why did you make people that refuse to remember even a few years ago? Or can't open a history book? Or the internet? 1 month ago
March 2006
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

