15
Mar
06

114246940545626724

So many socks, so little time. I did a swap with Beverly and she sent me the most gorgeous and unexpected package, along with the book and sock yarn I expected:

There was also hand lotion but I needed that desperately in my car so that’s where it ended up.

I also “helped” Steph do some destashing:

It’s Brown Sheep Handpaints in Sara’s Dress. Isn’t it gorgeous?

There was some discussion on other blogs about whether it is acdeptable to blog about gifts (and was it also yarn you bought?) but I plan on continuing. When I get something great, I want to share it with the world! What’s driving me (as opposed to others or even those “no gift showing” blogs) crazy on blogs this week is the rash of “secret projects”. If it’s so secret, don’t even mention it! Okay, I’m off my high horse. (Speaking of which, I am now officially an “ad free blog”, so I don’t have to feel guilty when I see that owl button.)

Yes, when I haven’t been checking blogs and trading/buying yarn, I have been knitting socks. I’m still on the heel of my Jaywalkers:

but now there are 5 people done on the Turtles KAL! I’d better get moving! The reason for my distraction was not the two other sets of socks I have on the needles, but the two socks I started!

I started my Sockapaloooza socks:

They’re my own design in Knit Picks Sock Garden in Zinnia. My Sock Pal likes bright colors and this yarn is a joy to knit with! I like the variegation and stitch definitiion and it’s really soft and stretchy. The only problem I’m having is that I have size 8 feet and my Sock Pal has size 11 feet (I hope that isn’t giving anything away!) so I’m not sure how to fit them correctly. Luckily a good friend of mine has size 11 feet too and has offered to help fit them. What a nice person!

Okay, off to finish the heel on my Jaywalkers. I can’t wait until this project is done.

7 Responses to “114246940545626724”


  1. March 15, 2006 at 4:49 pm

    Oooo, that zinnia yarn is gorgeous. I hear the Knitpicks is discontinuing sock garden, sock memories, and sock landscape. They’re all a dollar cheaper right now…

  2. March 15, 2006 at 4:53 pm

    You’re kidding, now that I love this yarn?! I’ll have to order lots!

  3. March 15, 2006 at 5:20 pm

    Are you still not feeling the love for that STR yarn? The Sock Garden yarn is gorgeously bright in colours … a very delightful choice!

  4. March 15, 2006 at 11:38 pm

    Wooooo nice Zinnia socks! Nice new blog look too. Much easier on my old eyes! 🙂

  5. March 16, 2006 at 8:26 am

    Thanks! I hope my Sock Pal likes them! I’m going back and forth on the STR, but I know I wouldn’t buy more STR, but I might buy more Blue Moon Fiber Arts yarn.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

March 2006
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

