04
Mar
06

114153624424127926

I had an amazing day! Even though BR is off in Vegas (and DL said to me “when dad gets back from his bachelor party” … not really something you want a 6 year old to know about, especially one in Vegas), I was able to take the day off and pamper myself. Actually, it was more time off than I’d give myself if he was here.

All week IM has been throwing up and other stuff and generally being sick and annoying. He has been whining up a storm and driving us all crazy. So I was so happy when my SFIL said they would watch the kids for the afternoon. I barely made it to the afternoon, but it was worth it. First, I went to tea at one of my favorite places. Then a trip to my LYS (which is actually moving closer to me, on my birthday!), where I was really good. I usually go to check out their oddball basket, but this time I decided not to buy the red and black Cascade 220 superwash, even though I seem to have a collection going of those two colors of Cascade 220 superwash. I did end up getting a size 1 circular needle (not sure if I should be kicking myself that I didn’t get the Addi) and this gorgeous sock yarn:

Then after the yarn store I went to get my nails done (I haven’t done that in years), did some shopping at Marshall’s, and had dinner at the mall. And IM was apparently really good at his grandparents’ which I’m happy about. I was worried I’d get called to come back.

My knitting time was spent on my Jaywalkers. Even though I had a rough start on the Olympics I still think it was a stretch to think I could finish socks on size 1 needles in 16 days. I have turned the heel and am on the “knit until the toes” part, but it’s slow going. I ended up switching from 8″ Crystal Palace dpns to 5″ Brittany dpns and it’s a bit easier. I also decided to put all the instep on my new Crystal Palace circular so hopefully it won’t go quite as slowly and tightly. I was considering doing a test by casting on another pair of Jaywalkers at the same time in a more stretchy yarn (like my new Mellenweit Multiringel) to see if it’s the pattern or the yarn that is slow going and painful to my hands, but I decided I’d rather just spend my time finishing the socks I already started. Here’s the status (no, it’s not the same picture from yesterday — notice the different needles?):

I may end up buying another size 1 circular and knitting both ends on circulars just to see, but that all depends on whether I can knit at Full Thread Ahead on Monday night or not.

Wish me luck, I still have one more night and day with just me and the kids. And it’s supposed to rain tomorrow.

2 Responses to “114153624424127926”


  1. March 5, 2006 at 6:26 am

    I’m glad you got some time to yourself. That’s so important for a SAHM. We need it for our sanity, no?

    Lovely sock yarn, and the Jaywalkers look lovely.

  2. March 7, 2006 at 7:09 am

    ooh, tea! I can always get behind that. I haven’t been to the one in San Carlos before. What a good idea for a pamper day–tea and yarn!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

March 2006
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

