19
Feb
06

114041400325670513

I should have time to take pictures today, but I don’t. I wasted yet another day and have barely started my third version of my Olympics project! I decided to just start the Jaywalkers after all with my Ruby Slippers Socks that Rock (I guess I really am a follower, since so many people have done this pattern in this yarn in this colorway you’d think that was what was written on the pattern!). I started with my 1.5 Brittany dpns, then down to 1s and it still looked large, so I pulled the size 0s out of my Peaks N Valleys socks and started again. We’ll see how it goes. I hope it’s not too tight now! This is the story of my life. I spend months wasting time starting and stopping projects, only to end up with nothing done.

I am also feverishly working on the fingerless gloves for my LYS. I thought it would be easy after the 50 row cuff (on size 2 dpns in double stranded mohair) but now there’s a detailed thumb gusset, then lots more knitting for the top. And I have to make two! No pressure … especially since I’m the second person working on this project and I know it was commissioned to them in early January.

Luckily I have at least 8 hours of driving/knitting time (BR will do the driving, fear not) on the way to our annual trip to Cambria. I can’t wait!

P.S. Even after I got back from Stitches I bought more yarn! The other night I woke up in a cold sweat pondering the aftermath of my Wednesday (as Shannon knows, it’s not that bad, but I’m building it up in my head) and couldn’t get back to sleep for hours. I decided to make many bids on cheap (inexpensive) yarn on Ebay. So I am now the proud owner of 2 skeins of Kureyon, 3 skeins of Artyarns Supermerino, a skein of Regia that matches the 1/2 skein I already have, and something else I’m blanking on.

P.P.S. I’m actually enjoying the Jaywalkers! I’m not sure why I wasn’t into casting on for a new project last week but now that I’ve settled on the Socks that Rock and size 0 needles (I really hope they work out) I’m getting into the pattern. A nice change from the K3, P2 ribbing on mohair for my fingerless gloves.

3 Responses to “114041400325670513”


  1. February 20, 2006 at 7:35 am

    Wow! Your stash is getting huge! Great sounding yarns.

  2. February 20, 2006 at 3:00 pm

    I’m just a spectator (I’m not really an athletic type) cheering on the Olypians. Have fun with your Jaywalkers. I seriously love the ruby slippers but a color that pretty just needs to be more visible so I may have to do a scarf…

  3. February 20, 2006 at 4:09 pm

    I’m not an athletic type either, but it sounded like fun. Now I’m not sure what I was thinking!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

February 2006
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  

