18
Feb
06

114032368885983142

The good news: I went to Stitches West! And I randomly ran into my former coworker from the job from hell (the one on an actual Indian burial mound! Who knew?!)!

I actually had to leave early because I felt so guilty about the amount of yarn I bought! I skipped an entire row of vendors and didn’t go back to the two I had planned to (sorry, Hollis, I’ll have to buy that Cherry Tree Hill directly from the store …) after spending way too much on yarn. Is it just me or was Stitches West 1000 times better this year than last year? Here’s what I got.

The picture doesn’t do it justice. It’s merino and wool and gorgeous red and pink. I had wanted the silk and merino but I couldn’t justify the money. So now I know what I want for my birthday, March 26, hint hint, Ellen’s Half Pint Farm in the Eclipse colorway in the silk and merino blend.

I also stopped by a local booth, well it said San Francisco and it appeared to be roving and tools-based, but they had about 6 or 7 huge tubs of sale yarn and I couldn’t help myself. I got this gorgeous Merlin Camelot yarn from Louet Sales:

and since you got an extra 10% off if you bought 12 of the sale yarns, I also got this Crystal Palace Frappe:

And actually my first purchase was some gorgeous Lana Grossa sock yarn that ended up being more expensive than I expected:

It was at Ellen’s Half Pint Farm that I decided I had spent too much time and money so I said goodbye to my coworker and her husband and drove the 20 minutes home. And Stitches East is in Baltimore in November, so I may have to take a trip to see my parents and check it out …

The bad news is that there is very little chance I’ll complete my Olympics project. I will finish the fingerless gloves that I designated for the Special Knitting Olympics, but after turning the heel on a very strangely designed Knitty’s Straight-Laced socks pattern, I decided it looks horrible on me and I frogged it.

Sooo … what to do for the next, what, 9 days? Complete my Broadripples that are barely started? Start a new pair of socks? I did order every one (practically) of Heartstrings Fiber Arts’ sock patterns from Elann the other day, and I have a number of other patterns I could start as well as two sock patterns already started. This sucks, when everyone else in my knitting group is off to a great start and/or practically done. Not to mention some of the “challenges” I’ve seen on some blogs of doing a pair of kids socks, and those people are already done!

This doesn’t do anything to help my mood which is already foul after the week I’ve had.

6 Responses to “114032368885983142”


  1. February 18, 2006 at 10:17 pm

    I went to Stitches West on Friday too. This is my second year … and I must be an odd ball in knitting expo like this. Last year, I hid my credit card at home before I went … because I was afraid I would become crazy in the Market. This year, I went with my credit card but I just bought some sock yarns … didn’t get the Socks That Rock though since all the lightweight were gone … didn’t like thick socks, so went home without STR yarns. I find that I am not able to buy yarns without an idea of what to do with them. But yours are pretty.

  2. February 18, 2006 at 11:22 pm

    That’s an awesome haul! I know what you mean about spending too much. Its hard when we know where most of the deals are online 😉

  3. February 19, 2006 at 1:01 pm

    All that red is just gorgeous. I tried to keep it in check, but I’m sure all that means is that I will end up ordering online from the vendors that I did not buy from at Stitches!!!

  4. February 19, 2006 at 4:30 pm

    Lovely yarns. Was the SF shop Carolina Homespun or Imaginknit?

  5. February 19, 2006 at 4:45 pm

    Carolina Homespun — I’ve been to ImagiKnit and love it but wasn’t too excited about their booth.

  6. February 20, 2006 at 4:45 pm

    Well we just about sold out of Cherry Tree Hill, so none of the back wall will be back at the store, but as you know I have plenty of other choices ;}


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

  • @murrayv @jimmy_dore @mentalpod Great episode! 3 of my favorite comedians/podcasters on the same stage! 1 week ago
  • RT @GeorgeTakei: The lack of any outrage over the use of private emails by Trump's closest advisors shows that it never never was about her… 1 week ago
  • RT @TheGoodGodAbove: A week has passed since the Las Vegas massacre of 58 people. The USA has done nothing and is no longer talking about… 1 week ago
  • They did it *again*! @bigbangtheory's "scientists" said that "we" (Bernadette and Howard) are pregnant? That is not physically possible!!!! 3 weeks ago
  • @TheGoodGodAbove God, why did you make people that refuse to remember even a few years ago? Or can't open a history book? Or the internet? 1 month ago
February 2006
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  

