15
Feb
06

114006247667685010

I’m having a horrible week. Today I had to go to DL’s performance in Oakland. BR and I usually stagger these (he went last year and now it was my turn, but I should have made him go), because someone has to watch the younger kids, and the performance is usually really boring. I made my way through the whole thing, but then had an incident afterwards which I will probably be embarassed about for a while to come. I was so upset (and still am) I don’t even feel like knitting. That’s bad.

But until today I was doing okay. I have 3 1/2 more rows on my Katrina Rib. Slowly but surely. I have settled on one sock on two circs for my Olympics project — Knitty’s Straight-Laced socks. I am into the pattern a bit but I need to check because I think I’m a bit off.

I also am working, for the Special Knitting Olympics and for my LYS on the Crystal Palace fingerless gloves. It is my first time working with mohair (?) yarn and it is really a pain. I think I’m doing better but it was slow going. It’s basically 50 rows of K3 P2 ribbing, then start the thumb gusset. And the person (I’ll keep my derogatory term to myself) who wrote the pattern made the gauge in stockinette even though the project is in rib and I hate the yarn enough that I’m not about to do a gauge swatch. It appears to be the right width for gloves, I’m just not sure if 50 rows is going to be long enough or not.

I am so depressed I wasn’t even brightened by a sweet Valentine’s-themed package from my Knitty SP and my Little Knits and Knit Picks packages. I’ll do some pictures tomorrow when hopefully I’m feeling better. School restarts then, though, and I have to face the principal so I’m not so sure. But I’ll try to shoot photos anyway.

4 Responses to “114006247667685010”


  1. February 16, 2006 at 6:14 am

    Ugh – horrible weeks just suck. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you that things get better quickly. When I have a horrible day (or horrible week) I just try to keep in mind that no matter how bad the day gets, at some point, it HAS to end.

    Take care!

  2. February 16, 2006 at 6:59 am

    Oh dear… I’m sorry that you’re so down.

  3. February 16, 2006 at 7:02 am

    Thanks for the support. I really hope it’s over soon!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

February 2006
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  

