24
Jan
06

113816686902368118

I (along with many other knitters, I think) am going sock crazy this year. I have ordered lots of sock yarn to go with the approximately 17 skeins of sock yarn I already have (a small sock yarn stash, I know) and many sock books. I’m still working on Peaks N Valleys, and next on my list is Broadripples (the Jaywalkers of 2003) and I want to make up a few patterns of my own.

Speaking of which, Amy created a list of sock patterns on the web, and I’m honored to see my Twist Barbie Socks on the list! I almost feel like I was published in Knitty or Magknits!!!

I stopped by my new LYS today and got one more skein of Kureyon for the Lotorp Bag. I ran out just before finishing the body of the bag (less than 1/6 to go) and still had the strap to do and finishing. I’ll definitely have it finished by tomorrow, even though the owner didn’t seem all that pressed this week that I have it done when she said it was due last week. I guess I’ve impressed upon her that I’m not just out to take the yarn and run …

Speaking of which, I got a Lion Brand catalog in the mail today and was remarking to a friend of mine that it had a price tag on it of $5 and it was just like the Victoria’s Secret catalog. When I used to work at Victoria’s Secret in the late ’80s, they would display the catalog and people thought it was free, but we were supposed to charge for it. My friend said something about the Victoria’s Secret catalog being not just about shopping (for the men, if you get my drift), and suggested that people don’t look at a yarn catalog that way! I’m sure there are some of us out there that use a yarn catalog (maybe Kpixie, though, not Lion Brand, but you do need your cheap thrills sometimes 😉 ) not as it was intended, right?

2 Responses to “113816686902368118”


  1. January 24, 2006 at 10:07 pm

    Yes, I’m a sock ho too. I have sooo many sock pattern books…and the Yarn! OMG the sock yarn stash grows and grows. It’s like tribbles! LOL

  2. January 25, 2006 at 3:34 pm

    I’m with you about being all about the socks this year! Bring them on!!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

January 2006
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

