19
Jan
06

113770761632462535

I’m a professional knitter! Sort of …

We have a new LYS, and never one to miss a “grand opening” I had to stop by this morning. The owners are really nice, and IM was pretty good even though I was there for maybe an hour.

Anyway, they were looking for people to help them knit swatches and I figured why not, so I talked to them, and wasn’t given a swatch, but a (I have no idea what you call this) shop sample! Here is my first project:

I have a week to do it. I really hope I can make it! They already want me to do a commission piece, fingerless gloves, and an afghan after that. I’m so excited! Now if only I could get BR to let me work there, they’re hiring too!

9 Responses to “113770761632462535”


  1. January 19, 2006 at 2:44 pm

    Very imprssive.
    I will suggest you should enlist your self on http://www.zoozu.com
    this is free to enlist and will increase your exposure.

  2. January 19, 2006 at 3:01 pm

    Awesome, I’ll have to check them out!

  3. January 19, 2006 at 4:45 pm

    Cool! So do you work for yarn? πŸ™‚

  4. January 19, 2006 at 5:22 pm

    sounds like fun!
    why cant you work there?

  5. January 19, 2006 at 5:55 pm

    I don’t know if this is better or worse, but I’m being paid a small amount to knit it. Maybe it would be worth more if I were paid in yarn?

    I can’t work there because then I would have to get a babysitter for my kids since my DH works practically 7 days a week.

  6. January 20, 2006 at 8:14 am

    Wow, that is so cool! What a nice shop to immediately consign you for swatches … good business for them, if they have samples knit up, I bet. That little bag is so cute, too. (I’m a huge Noro addict.) RE: the yarn girls’ book … my next sweater is from that book, too, it was another super-quick knit. I think their books are so great.

  7. January 20, 2006 at 8:17 am

    The place where I work started selling yarn almost a year ago (our only LYS was closing). We carry a mish mash from yarn to cell phones, computer sales & service, film developing, cutom framing… Anyways, it’s so cool to have access to yarn whenever I need it! And I’m always making stuff for the store to sell, so there’s extra money there. Plus the staff discount on yarn! πŸ™‚

  8. January 21, 2006 at 12:31 am

    excellent! Good job sleuthing down a new LYS too πŸ™‚ Hope the project turned out great and you have the commission for further work. A new LYS opened in Los Altos too and I’m just itching to dash over there. Have restrained myself so far as am on strict yarn diet!

  9. January 21, 2006 at 2:12 am

    Sweet! Nothing better than getting to play with other people’s yarn for free. I swatched something for my LYS once and scored some free yarn. T’was the highlight of my undergrad years πŸ˜‰ Sounds like you’re in demand now, with the gloves and afghan. Post ’em if you can…


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

January 2006
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

