31
Dec
05

113608261062335703

So we’re back. Yes, I took three kids with just me to lovely Morro Bay, CA, about 12 miles North of San Luis Obispo and maybe 1/2 an hour South of San Simeon, where Hearst Castle is. My friends T and A (oh, how cute! 😉 ) from MD are still in L.A. visiting her family and decided to take a short trip up North so we drove down South to meet them.

I think originally T told her mom San Luis Obispo, and her mom suggested Morro Bay. Why, I have no idea. It’s just like any other beach town — kind of dirty and run down, and not fun in the winter. (If you’re reading this, sorry to offend you or your mom!) So we ended up in San Luis Obispo a lot of the time with a quick trip to Cambria on the way back.

I was so stressed with me and the kids (and they were not on their best behavior) I didn’t even stop at the LYS I read about online, or even the one in Cambria I visited during our last annual visit. We mostly just ate and tried to corral three kids 5 and under who had been in the car for 4 hours and were stir crazy. Not to mention that BR got our schedule all confused and wasn’t even around enough to enjoy a night off from the kids — he was at work when I wasn’t gone this week because they are bribing them to come in with a lottery for one of three plasma tvs and a couple of XBox 360s. We find out on Tuesday I think who won.

Then today after a nice rainstorm last night we wake up to a flooded indoor patio, garage, and front and back yards. BR spent the morning getting sandbags and bailing out the 8 inch deep puddle in our indoor patio. I’m so happy that when we moved in three years ago we decided to “stage” our stuff out there and of course a lot of it never made it inside. So far only some of the kids’ toys are ruined, but there are a lot of things there that I would like to keep like my mementos, albums, CDs, and my three banjos. Got to love winter in California.

The other stressor is it just hit me on Wednesday that I have my broker’s test on the 4th (Wednesday) and I know nothing about California real estate! I really need to get through the test preparation book I borrowed from the library, but I’m just not motivated.

I have been able to do some knitting, but not much. I still need to piece together A.Lo’s sweater, but I did redo the last sleeve so all that is needed is stitching. I haven’t gotten back to my second fingerless mitt, since I now have a higher priority project. I need to make a swatch for a mystery project for my knitting group, and I’ve put it off this long, I have to do it now! So far so good, I have about 6 more inches to go and it’s going well so far. If only I could do it while studying real estate I’d be fine.

4 Responses to “113608261062335703”


  1. January 1, 2006 at 2:10 pm

    I learned the flooding lesson a few years back. Now I invest in plastic tubs at Target. At least they float *sigh*

  2. January 1, 2006 at 2:59 pm

    Luckily we did last year, but there are some things that aren’t in them, and they are pretty much gone.

  3. January 2, 2006 at 6:37 pm

    Ouch! I hope everything gets settled out with all the rain.

    I hope you feel prepared by the time of the broker’s test.

  4. January 3, 2006 at 6:15 am

    Oh yikes, floods are such a mess. One Halloween my ex-fiance and I came home to find 3″ of water throughout our entire house. A pipe had burst. And of course we were getting trick or treaters. We had a great time telling all the kids that we’d flooded the house on purpose just for Halloween. Kids’ll believe anything 😉


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

December 2005
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

