28
Dec
05

113583522397699339

Finally, my Portland and knitting update. Just in time for another trip!

So I came into Portland at 10:30 pm Christmas Day. I had an interesting flight — while I was waiting for my flight from San Francisco I was knitting one of many sleeves for A.Lo’s sweater, and another knitter came up and sat down next to me. She pulled out a sock on dpns and after about a minute we both said to each other “so what are you working on?” We talked about knitting for a few minutes, then when they called our flight I was paranoid about getting my seat (you can tell I don’t fly much anymore) so I got on. I was anxiously awaiting my seatmate, only to discover that it was the knitter I had been talking to in the waiting room! So we had a nice discussion on the flight about knitting, librarians (she works for a book store), etc.

Then I spent the rest of the evening with my friends, telling them about my interest in looking for at least one yarn store the next day. I had the addresses of two of them that were close by, and my friend had run across a third so I was in luck, I didn’t have to choose between them, and could see them all!

Our first stop on “Christmas Day (observed)” was Knit Knot, on 12th and Glisan. We got there about 10:57, and the sign on the door said that they were opening at 11, even though they usually opened at noon. We hung around for a few minutes, but there was no sign that they were there or going to open anytime soon, so we gave up.

Next up was my favorite, and apparently a new knitting shop in Portland, Knit/Purl. They had a lot of really nice yarns, a sitting area that my friends could use to wait for me, and my only yarn purchase in Portland, Socks that Rock sock yarn:

I had been looking for something local, but this Australian yarn was so gorgeous and I hadn’t seen it in person yet so I decided I had to get some. I also got another skein of the black Waikiki I bought at CommuKnity last week.

On our way back to our hotel, we stopped at Lint. It had a large selection and I was drawn to the small plastic Clover circular needles they had, but they didn’t have the size I needed. They also had a gorgeous Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride yarn which was red and gold but bulky, and I would have preferred the worsted. They also had some gorgeous Koigu and Brown Sheep Handpainted but neither in enough stock that I would be able to make a project with it, plus it would be so expensive so I felt guilty and didn’t end up buying anything. I considered going back to Lint the next day but didn’t.

Later we did make it back to Knit Knot. It was a tiny store which did have a lot of the same yarns I’ve seen before, as well as the Brown Sheep worsted I was interested in, but nothing worth spending money on.

So my choice, based on three yarn stores in the Northwest section of Portland, is Knit/Purl. If you can only go to one, go there. They even had a discount section — the whole downstairs!

I also got some knitting done on my trip. I finished sleeves #2 and 3 for A.Lo’s sweater, and they still don’t fit.

So either it’s a vest, or I’m just don’t know what I’ll do. What should I do?

I also got some work done on my Raglan Tansy Tee. I have about 2 inches to go before the shaping to finish up the back. I’m really glad I brought it since otherwise I never work on it.

And we’re off again! The same friends from Portland (did I mention they were there in the hopes of her getting a job there after law school? and that they currently live in Maryland? I would love to see them more regularly and have an excuse to visit Portland more often!) are in L.A. with her family, and are driving up to Morro Bay tomorrow. We’re driving down and meeting them for a day. I think I’ve already done the yarn stores in that area, since we do Cambria every year, but I can check!

Oh, and I really should be studying since I just found out I take my broker’s test on Wednesday in Oakland! If only I hadn’t taken my classes last year and been using the books as doorstops since then!

5 Responses to “113583522397699339”


  1. December 28, 2005 at 10:25 pm

    I was in Oregon (Salem) and didn’t make it to the yarn stores in Portland, but I just got some Ruby Slippers Socks That Rock today in Seattle!

  2. December 28, 2005 at 10:39 pm

    That’s exactly what I got! Great minds think alike!

  3. December 29, 2005 at 8:11 am

    Sounds like you had a lovely trip! The next time I’m in Portland I’m going to have to look up that yarn store.

  4. December 29, 2005 at 8:37 am

    Sounds like you had fun! I was some STR yarn….yours looks loverly.

  5. December 31, 2005 at 1:34 am

    Hi Elspeth!

    Sorry you didn’t see my pumpkin hat. Turns out I didn’t make it to any yarn store except the Yarn Garden. I actually went there twice and I have to say that they were really friendly and helpful. Too helpful, in fact, because the second time I was in a hurry and the cashier spent about 20 minutes helping this woman in front of me with a pattern and sizing, etc. She was really nice but I should have asked to cut in for my purchase…

    We’ll certainly check out Knit Knot the next time we’re there. I wanted to go but DH was already huffy enough about spending lots of time waiting for me while I shopped for yarn so I didn’t want to make him wait more.

    I bought some SoySilk in black and red to make myself a neat little handback with stripes. I also bought some novelty shiny red and some recycled shiny black rayon so that I can make a matching but different strap and edging for the bag. I don’t have a pattern, I’m just making it up as I go along.
    I responded to your comments on my blog. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

December 2005
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

