14
Dec
05

113462331327455342

I really hate knitting right now. I have tried three different sleeve combinations for this baby sweater that some people crank out in a matter of days, and what, 2, 3 weeks later, I have no idea how to make it work. It looks okay as a vest, but what self-respecting toddler would wear a “Lego yellow” sweater vest?

Right before this, I decided I would try to pick up the sleeves (again) and that I really needed to go to the yarn store and buy size 7 dpns, which I didn’t have. My LYS had nice Brittany dpns last time (and most of mine are Crystal Palace so I was excited to get more Brittanys — they have amazing customer service, by the by) but today they only had Brittany dpns in 9s and larger. *And* of course I found lots of stuff in their odd ball basket that I don’t need but I bought anyway: 2 non-matching but similarly colored skeins of Lorna’s Laces sock yarn and 2 skeins of Cascade 220 in pinkish red and blue/white. I passed on the blue/white Crystal Palace Waikiki because I really had no idea what I was going to do with it. And I swear, I went to just by dpns and maybe something for a RAK I’m getting together. I really need help. No work, no money, but I can still buy yarn, right?

2 Responses to “113462331327455342”


  1. December 16, 2005 at 12:10 pm

    i think the bargain bin is a test of just how well we knitter can resist a yummy skein at bargain price. (I have failed this test every time.)

    I hear you on the cable issue. Making a hat to match the scarf and I had to frog. I know my friend has a small had, but … sigh, i hate frogging.

  2. December 19, 2005 at 10:58 pm

    And the scary thing is a bargain price isn’t often that cheap, just cheaper!

    I hate frogging too — I feel like I’ve wasted that time I could have been working on a successful project!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

December 2005
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

