13
Dec
05

113454306522581692

I guess I really am an advanced beginner knitter. After some delay, I was able to make it to my knitting group, and I was able to finish the first sleeve of A.Lo’s sweater. Then I realized it was probably too long (it’s a set in sleeve sweater and I measured it before decreases against OR’s arm — not an easy thing with an almost 3 year old — and it was fine then), and definitely too narrow. Then, duh, Shannon reminds me that cables will make it draw in! So now I’m required to redo the sleeve so it has some hope of fitting A.Lo, my friend’s large 2 year old. Ah, reknitting. Not to mention I sewed the sides of the sweater already, not realizing that that would mean that the set in sleeves wouldn’t fit in! Amateurish mistake, I’m sure.

Another exciting part of today was receving Debbie Bliss’ “Celtic Knits” from overstock.com. There are a lot of jacket patterns and I can’t wait to start one. Not to mention I told myself that my next project would be a card-cover for my gym I.D. card which is getting all scratched up, like my IPod. There are just so many patterns out there, and only so much knitting time! I wonder if anyone has made an acronym, like SABLE, that indicates *patterns* extending past life expectancy? I’d fit into that category, even before SABLE itself.

4 Responses to “113454306522581692”


  1. December 14, 2005 at 6:55 am

    I’m with you on the too many patterns, not enough time thing!

  2. December 14, 2005 at 7:00 am

    Elspeth, I think SPABLE (stash pattern acquisition) would work great. I know I have more books with patterns than I will ever make, not to mention about 8 years worth of Vogue Knitting magazines with “favorite” patterns still marked. And there are quite a few books on my wish list too. I have a list of shawls that I want to make that will last me for the next 10 years. 🙂

    Sorry I haven’t commented lately, I’ve been reading through bloglines and have been terrible about commenting, even though I whined about it on my own blog.

  3. December 19, 2005 at 11:01 pm

    Erica, I read your blog about the commenting thing and didn’t comment so I feel horrible! (And with my own commenting woes, too!)

    SPABLE is nice, but not as catchy as SABLE, which is so nice and luxurious!

  4. December 19, 2005 at 11:02 pm

    And I just joined another book club, Zooba, which will definitely feed my pattern book mania1


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

December 2005
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

