26
Nov
05

113307325280810204

Still hard at work at baby sweater #1. Why is it that I always have to restart things 20 times before I get something acceptable? Usually it’s the size, but this time I don’t care what size it is since the babies aren’t born yet. This time I am working on a cable pattern and I kept having to restart the back because the cable didn’t look right. Now I’m one cable row in and so far so good. I should have a lot of knitting time recently since there are many Degrassis that I haven’t seen, and I’m on the 5th Harry Potter book on tape too.

Oh I forgot the excitement of the weekend. Here’s how they get you. As I mentioned, my MIL saves her Michael’s coupons for me every week, and they get two papers. Yes, Michael’s supports the Republicans and I am not now and will never be one, but they have the best craft supplies near me, so I shop there every week now. Never underestimate the power of a 40% off coupon. Anyway, first there were two 40% off coupons that expired on Wednesday, and I was going to get them from my MIL on Wednesday, never dreaming that I’d be sick and not able to leave the house.

Then on Thanksgiving they gave me two Michael’s circulars with the craziest coupons! One was for 25% off all of your purchases from 6-9 am on Friday (including sale items). Then there were three based on how much you bought on Friday from 9-closing. The first one was $25 or more and I knew I wasn’t going to spend $25 so I totally ignored those. Then the third one was 20% off all your purchases from 9-12 on Saturday (including sale items). The fourth one was 50% off any one item from 12-closing on Saturday.

Suffice it to say I ended up blowing them all. I was way too tired to get to Michael’s by 9 am on Friday, or even noon today, so those “everything you can buy is discounted” ones were useless. I ended up going twice today and getting 50% off on two items, but even those were kind of stretching it — wedding favor boxes that I hope to use for future stitch marker mailing, and some beading pliers I’m not even sure I’ll like. Yes, I know, I’ve been thinking way too much about Michael’s coupons. Way too much.

2 Responses to “113307325280810204”


  1. November 27, 2005 at 7:31 am

    Wow! Those are some crazy coupons. Well, you probably saved money in the long run by not using them all. I always end up trying to find something and end up getting something I don’t need.

  2. December 19, 2005 at 11:09 pm

    I do the same thing, except the past couple of weeks when I haven’t been able to get to my MIL’s house at the right time to get them and get them used up.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

November 2005
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

