25
Nov
05

113298020866076357

This yarn is actually not *that* new, I recieved it last week but couldn’t get to the camera to take a picture. It’s from Ami Ami, and when I first saw their yarns I had to try them! Of course I should have ordered the sample cards that they sent with my order since I mistakenly ordered tons of *lace* weight yarn, and the yarns that I liked the most on the sample cards were not lace weight yarn. Not to mention that in one case, yarn that looked red was purple in real life. I don’t have much of a use for lace weight yarn so I’m not sure what I’m going to do with it (did I mention they sent me a “bonus” of extra black yarn, even more than I ordered?!). Here’s my dilemma. The black yarn is really thin. When I first pulled it out, it looked like thread, but now I realize it’s like triple stranded thread, so a bit thicker. It is also unmercifully tangled at this point. So, should I bother untangling it or just throw it out? Does three times the width of thread sound like standard laceweight yarn, and I should try something from my “A Gathering of Lace” book from it? What to do …

In my time not spent untangling black lace weight yarn, I decided to start a new project. As you know I have 10 skeins of yellow (“pineapple”) Cotton Ease burning a hole in my stash and two babies expected (my friends are finally procreating!) in the next few months, so I started one baby sweater today. Both of the babies expected are boys so I hope they are not offended by what I call “Lego yellow” sweaters. Maybe I could embroider some tools on them?

3 Responses to “113298020866076357”


  1. November 26, 2005 at 9:01 am

    Embroidering tools would be good. They could be little Bob the Builder sweaters.

  2. November 29, 2005 at 12:34 am

    you might consider doubling the yarns for socks or mittens, using it as a carry along to tone down or brighten up another yarn, selling them, giving them as gifts to those who do like lace weight yarns. Oh, trading is a good option too. You could use them as prizes, donate them to one of the charity auctions, lots of options. Even the tangled one, I’d take it because my bf has discovered he likes untangling yarn almost as much as he likes tying fancy knots.

  3. December 19, 2005 at 11:11 pm

    OMG, someone who likes untangling yarn? I need help desperately! And I’m definitely on the lookout for lace weight lovers — I think I’m a DK/sport/worsted fan myself.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

November 2005
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

