10
Oct
05

112900405002796908

Nothing like a little bit of stress, pressure and harassment to keep you from knitting.

First, I have a presentation tomorrow and one next week (for the job interview). Then I had some paid work which luckily I cranked out yesterday. Then we go through some Halloween-based stress (our neighborhood has decided to block off our street for the second year in a row. I’m worried it will set a precedent). Then the “crazy lady” from our school decides she is going to use her dueling degrees to “market” our school and make it a place that has a waitlist, and probably charges more. When I read her obnoxious email to us parents (lovingly titled “Heads up”) about how we were going to have to sign up our kids’ siblings now or not get them into the school I went ballistic. Luckily it wasn’t just me that was mad and another person sent an email in before I drafted mine. I’m fuming just thinking about this woman and her antics.

Finally, BR takes the kids to school today, and just as I’m trying to get other stuff settled (a new doctor for me, dealing with our recent credit card mess), he calls and says “Could it be a holiday?” Apparently the public schools in our area weren’t closed and other schools weren’t but ours was. So I had to deal with three kids instead of my errands and appointments.

Long story short (too late), I realized I had again gone backwards in calculating gauge and instead of going up a needle size for less stitches (it seems so backwards to me) I went down a needle size, so the back of my Blackberry was too small. I was totally done with the back, too! So I restarted in 13s (duh, it’s even the size she recommends in the pattern!) and am at the beginning again.

So after looking at the Knitty sock patterns, I was all ready to make Broadripples, but then I saw Kathy’s “Jaywalking” socks from Magknits. Now I don’t know what to do! I’ve got three or four sock yarn choices, too, off white with black and grey bits (I’ve forgotten the brand already); red, black and grey Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock; and red or black Fixation. Decisions, decisions! I’m going to cast on as soon as I finish Blackberry. (Or October 31, whichever comes first.)

P.S. Another “duh” moment — as I was yarn [window] shopping it occurred to me that the Noro Kabuto isn’t the thickest yarn I have, I have 8 hanks of Classic Elite Gatsby, and that is over 700 yards, so I just might have enough of that to finish Blackberry without buying more (which is great since both Elann and Little Knits don’t have the color combination I have anymore). I may try it out tomorrow. Third time’s the charm, they say.

2 Responses to “112900405002796908”


  1. October 11, 2005 at 7:04 am

    Sending you peaceful vibes. I’m also trying to mojo myself. Hang in there!

  2. October 11, 2005 at 8:25 am

    oooh I love blackberry, on the have to knit list! I can’t wait to see how it comes out! Your knitting adventures sound eerily close/similar to mine!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

October 2005
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

