27
Sep
05

112788381074940472

I am cursed when it comes to projects these days. You know I had to restart Soleil and the Silk Corset in Spring Garden three times each. Then I had the other Tivoli problem. So today I was trying it on again and realized I pulled out some of the stitches, including where the beginning of the round stitch marker was. I’d be willing to bet that will influence where the waist shaping goes, which I am ready to do. This sucks!

Oh, and who has Endless Summer Lara? Well, it tangles up just by looking at it. I spent the day and last night untangling it so I could knit again and now it’s tangled yet again. I like it for this project but I doubt I’ll buy it again.

So far so good on the Silk Corset in Micro. Our friend Bill (“Will”) was visiting last night for a job interview here (he’s living in Mexico right now and hopes to _commute_ to the Bay Area for said job) and said just the right thing: we were in the car with BR (who is a software engineer) and Bill said “Are you looking for a job?” (He’s applying with a major internet firm.) And BR goes, “No …” (They used to work in the same field.) And Bill goes “No, I was talking to Elspeth.” I never thought I would see the day where anyone, especially in the computer field, would wonder if I were available! I told him if he got the job he had to find me a job too! Anyway, they were here talking last night and I was untangling Endless Summer Lara until I got disgusted with it, and then got a couple of rows done on the Silk Corset. I’m going slowly because I don’t want to have to restart again.

6 Responses to “112788381074940472”


  1. September 28, 2005 at 5:36 am

    ugh, been there done that! you just have to resist the temptation of trying it on while still on the needles. were you able to save the stitches?

  2. September 28, 2005 at 7:19 am

    When I have things to go wrong with the knitting, I have to keep reminding myself that “knitting is a process.” I hope you get it sorted out because it sounded like you were making good progress on Tivoli earlier!

  3. September 28, 2005 at 8:27 am

    I just spent several hours on Saturday unravelling the knots that Rex put in some pretty teal blue wool I had been pondering. not only were there knots aplenty, but there were millions of little rex hairs woven in by the time I got it away from him.
    The weird thing is, I sort of ENJOY unravelling knots. I know, bizarre.

  4. September 28, 2005 at 11:30 am

    Well the problem is that I’m shortwaisted so I wanted to get the waist shaping done early rather than later so I had to try it on. I got all the stitches, it’s just the stitch marker got moved. I think I got it back to an okay position so I’m on it again!

    and Elspeth, I’ll be happy to send you 2 skeins of Lorna’s Laces sock yarn that got attacked by a baby, if you’re bored 😉

  5. September 28, 2005 at 5:20 pm

    sorry to hear your endless summer is disobeying you. have you tried yelling at it and threatening it into submission. mine is very well-behaved…

  6. September 28, 2005 at 6:16 pm

    But have you knit with yours yet?! Maybe it’s the black [sheep] version that wants to curl on itself and get tangled!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

September 2005
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

