23
Sep
05

112751038876084305

Here’s how they get you: according to Buyblue.org, I can’t shop at Michael’s because they give their donations to the Republicans. (Which party I am not a member — I just can’t get that grammar to turn out right, but you get the picture.) However, those 40 or 50% off coupons get me every time! I find myself at Michael’s just trying to find something to spend money on because it is discounted!

So today I actually walked to Michael’s (2 miles each way, I think), and since I couldn’t find a good birthday party for my (Republican) friend’s daughter’s birthday, of course I left with _another_ Boye Needlemaster set. After the big discussion on Knitters Review about how everyone loved their Denise system (and I did mine, until three of the pieces broke and it’s pretty much useless) and had no use for the Needlemaster, I find myself with two sets! Of course it’s BR’s fault since he moved all my knitting stuff and I can’t find my old one. And I need more size 3-5s which Denise can’t help you with.

Other than walking and buying, I’m progressing finally on my Tivoli. I’m at the sleeve part (where the sleeves would be) and hope to get moving on it since I’m past the increases I think.

That, and reading the two new knitting magazines that came in the mail today! (Creative Knitting and Knit N Style) I can’t wait!

8 Responses to “112751038876084305”


  1. September 23, 2005 at 4:44 pm

    Sometimes other stores like Beverly’s, if you have one near you, will accept competitor’s coupons.

  2. September 23, 2005 at 7:06 pm

    Actually, I haven’t heard of Beverly’s, but thanks for the tip! Since I get about 4 miles of walking in, I’ll still go to Michael’s, but feel guilty!

  3. September 23, 2005 at 7:42 pm

    hmm… thanks for telling me about Michael’s.

  4. September 23, 2005 at 10:24 pm

    wow, didn’t know that about micheals. (how dare they make yarn work for the dark side)

    and i just have to show off my non-existent grammar skills when i say ” a party of which i am not a member”
    (i took me 10 minutes, hence the non-existent part, so like i said, i gotta show off)

  5. September 24, 2005 at 8:07 am

    We have JoAnn’s near us too, but it’s not as nice as the Michael’s, so I don’t even go there.

    Actually, my DH says by buying things discounted you’re taking money away from their donations, so I can buy that 😉

    Thanks for the corrected grammar!

  6. September 24, 2005 at 10:05 am

    How about A.C. Moore? They also do weekly 40% off coupons, but I do not know anything about their political affiliations or their regionality. They have about the same general stock of knitting stuff, i’ve found…
    Hey, I’m thinking about getting one of those amazing needle systems, so let me know which to get and why!

  7. September 24, 2005 at 9:49 pm

    We don’t have A.C. Moore here. Actually, I don’t remember them in MD either, but I have heard of them. But then again, apparently there are Beverly’s pretty close to me just not right nearby since Jennifer and I live over a bridge from each other.

  8. September 25, 2005 at 9:33 pm

    I used to live across the street from a Beverley’s in Alameda, but they had barely ANY yarn. I think the nearest one is in Daly City, which isn’t near at all (besides Alameda, that isn’t close either).


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

September 2005
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

