14
Sep
05

112675939811174936

I’d like to say I got a lot of knitting done today, but I was mostly rushing around, trying to exercise, picking up kids, eating raisin toast (damned CostCo!), and going to the park. I did get some photos of my WIP, except IM’s blanket, where the photo was really washed out and I’m too lazy to take another picture. Here goes:

My Katrina Rib, just below the provisional cast ons for the sleeves:

My Raglan Tansy Tee from Cast On, it’s really hard to show since the needle wants to curl:

I haven’t done anything on my Silk Corset, but as I took it out to take a picture I was thinking there is no way it is going to fit around me, and I’m not convinced I like it striped. So, I will need to frog eventually and try another yarn in my stash. I also have a red himalayan silk that I finally got from discountyarnsale.com (not really any problems with them, but their system is weird and I only saved $5 after the really expensive shipping, so I don’t think I would use them again) that might work. I need to swatch again. Here is the latest photo, though:

I also joined two more knitalongs. I have started my Tivoli (no picot edging for me). I got gauge with my Endless Summer Lara from elann.com but I’m still worried it will be too small. We’ll see.

And the Fall Cable KAL. Once I finish one of my many projects I really want a cable project to be next. I have in mind at least the Wrist Warmers based on the Hello Yarn Irish Hiking Scarf, and probably Blackberry from Knitty to start.

Okay, I know I wasn’t going to buy any yarn, but I was stuck in San Carlos so I had to run to the yarn store, right? And guess what they had in the clearance bin:

I just love this Knit One Crochet Too Tartlette. And my new size 4 circular needle.

Just one more shameless plug: I discovered the most amazing jewelry by Sharla at Sharma Designs and bought and received this in two days, max:

Now, I want her to stay in business, but my anniversary is coming up soon, so don’t buy the stuff I told my DH to buy me!

P.S. I know my blog and this post are rather lighthearted, but my best friend and “Maid of Honor” at my wedding lives in NC and I really hope for him, his wife and daughter, and everyone else affected by Ophelia, to stay safe. And I read some encouraging words in Kirsten’s blog today, basically that many [knitting?] blogs have become watered down for fear of offending anyone. I guess I wanted to say that even though I’m trying to stick to knitting content (while inside I’m worried about the future of humanity), I am still thinking about Katrina and it’s victims every day.

3 Responses to “112675939811174936”


  1. September 15, 2005 at 6:55 am

    The color of the Katrina Rib is very pretty! The jewelry you bought is lovely as well.

    I just finished reading Kristen’s post and have a lot to think about. While I’ve spent 6 years discussing controversial topics in the classroom I’ve honed the skill of being impartial when in conversation with students and other people I don’t know well. I’m glad there are people like Kristen and the people who have emailed her to express their opinions. I enjoy reading other people’s opinions and have them in conversation with my own. I guess I feel that having a knitting blog that tries to stick to knitting, or the trials of everyday life is ok without getting into politics or religion (hot button topics). It’s not a case of not wanting to offend for me, it’s more I feel that talking about my views is something best done in a small group or one-to-one, over coffee and pastries. 🙂

  2. September 15, 2005 at 8:09 am

    I think I like the coffee and pastries thing a bit too much 😉 !

  3. September 15, 2005 at 4:39 pm

    ohhh that evil Costco raisin bread! I have to avoid the whole bakery section or that raisin bread ends up in my cart without my even noticing. BAD for low-carb diets (I started South Beach again about a week ago).

    I just started my Katrina Rib last night – I’ll be following your progress. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

September 2005
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

