05
Sep
05

112597799851670641

So I’m finally on my second ball of Filatura di Crosa 510 for my Katrina Rib. I guesstimate it will take about 5 balls, which would make me 20% done, right? (That was a rhetorical question, I do use some math for work, particularly the increment of 20%.)

Because I’ve been doing that all weekend and it’s obvious that I’m not finishing it by tomorrow, I decided to do a few things with the third iteration of my Soleil (“Nuit”). It’s no longer on the cone for now so it’s easier to bring along, so I should work on it more.

I also have my second class tomorrow. Don’t tell my teacher, but I am woefully unprepared. Remember that I have started this class three other times and I used to own the book, but the genius that I am I sold it at some point so I had to reorder it. I then didn’t reorder it until after the class last week so it’s now en route, I hope. So I am not prepared. Let’s not talk about how there is a 6-8 page paper due the day before IM’s 1st birthday and after his birthday party so I won’t be focusing too much on that.

The good news is that BR has relented and allowed me to apply for a job! (I suspect if I had asked he would have let me work earlier but I didn’t want to send the kids to day care.) Well, a part time job. As I may have mentioned, BR works often 7 days a week and even if he doesn’t work weekends he doesn’t get home until 7:30 or so for “normal” time, which makes me working at night impossible as well, unless *I* get a babysitter.

So yesterday BR mentions how he really wants to get a new car. I will give him that his ten year old Integra is in really bad shape, but he really wants a new car. So after he’s daydreaming about the new car he wants, I jump in with “Soooo … can I work on Sundays?” The local Community College is looking for on call librarians so I’m going to put in my application and see if they need me in hours I could get BR to watch the kids. I had wanted to work at my school but with gas prices so high I feel like I don’t want to waste the gas to drive there every week. But if our local school can’t use me I might apply at my school at well. Got to jump in when BR is ready to watch the kids every Sunday! I’ll think of it as “a break” to get to work. I wonder if they let you knit when you’re not showing college kids where the bathroom is? 😉

EDIT: I am L-A-Z-Y with a capital “L”. I didn’t even bother to look in the huge box of CDs I’m selling on half.com and the couple of books and guess what I find: yes, a three year old copy of “Controversies in Media Ethics”. Did I bother to look before I bought another copy and paid express shipping? No, of course not. So now I will have not one but two copies. And I am still unprepared because I didn’t yet do the reading. I did, however, start reading Elizabeth Zimmerman’s “Knitting Workshop”. Does that count?

2 Responses to “112597799851670641”


  1. September 6, 2005 at 6:52 am

    I have an interview this week as well and yes, I consider working a break from the SAHM job. Good luck on getting it! It sounds like it would work out well with the family.

  2. September 6, 2005 at 6:40 pm

    Good luck with the librarian gig – sounds like a wonderful way to ease back into the workforce, and not cause too many ripples with BR…

    best,
    Juls
    valleygrrl.typepad.com


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

  • @murrayv @jimmy_dore @mentalpod Great episode! 3 of my favorite comedians/podcasters on the same stage! 1 week ago
  • RT @GeorgeTakei: The lack of any outrage over the use of private emails by Trump's closest advisors shows that it never never was about her… 1 week ago
  • RT @TheGoodGodAbove: A week has passed since the Las Vegas massacre of 58 people. The USA has done nothing and is no longer talking about… 1 week ago
  • They did it *again*! @bigbangtheory's "scientists" said that "we" (Bernadette and Howard) are pregnant? That is not physically possible!!!! 3 weeks ago
  • @TheGoodGodAbove God, why did you make people that refuse to remember even a few years ago? Or can't open a history book? Or the internet? 1 month ago
September 2005
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

