27
Aug
05

112520513246820685

Okay, okay, since BR is at work (got to love those software companies), here is a picture of my Nuit in progress:

I just got past the lace border. I don’t know if I’ll know for sure, but having tons of work (I can only work when the kids are in bed, usually) definitely keeps me from knitting but also keeps me from being able to overeat too much. At least I hope.

So I was on the Little Knits website, “just browsing” (yeah, right) and found that they still have information on the cone I bought from them. According to the listing, my cone has about 1650 yards of Classic Elite Venue. Soleil takes approximately 575 yards. So that is, what, 2.8 Soleils on one cone. (See, I can do basic math!) That’s a lot of Soleils!

The good news for me is that since I started the Silk Corset, which requires approximately 650 yards of yarn, I have not only been shopping for yarn that would make a nice silk corset (even though I am making it with Silk Garden out of my stash), but I always unintentionally buy enough yardage to make another Silk Corset. So since Soleil has a similar yardage requirement to the Silk Corset, when I’m buying enough yarn for the Silk Corset, I will probably have enough yarn for Soleil, and therefore probably have enough yarn for a standard project. When I was a yarn buying virgin (thanks to Shannon for the colorful term) I had no idea how much yarn to buy for a project. So I ended up with 3 skeins of lots of stuff, and nowhere near enough for a project. I may not be up with the Bunny Ranch yarn buyers but getting more experienced. (Yes, I have HBO and I’m not afraid to watch it!)

2 Responses to “112520513246820685”


  1. August 28, 2005 at 11:11 am

    Nuit is looking nice! Yes, I erred on the other side when I started buying yarn. I bought way more than I needed.

    I watch that HBO show too. It’s like watching a train wreck. I just can’t look away… 🙂

  2. August 28, 2005 at 2:50 pm

    It’s scary, isn’t it? But my DH reminds me whenever there is a new one, so I can’t miss it.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


