20
Aug
05

112460048894024505

My swatching may have brought up a match! I found that the gauge for Soleil and the cover sweater from the Summer 2005 Cast On magazine matches both my Endless Summer Lara from Elann and my huge cone of Classic Elite Venue, on size 3 and size 5 needles respectively. Scarily enough, the Eyelet Ribbed Top, which is why I bought the Endless Summer Lara and is what advertises that yarn, does not get gauge with the needle size recommended. Oh well. I don’t know what I was thinking buying that pattern anyway, since the sleeves are really puffy, and I look pufffy enough.

So when I feel up to it (please, let one or two kids sleep through the night tonight! BR just uttered fighting words: “I know you do all [or was it ‘most of’?] the hard work, but I still feel it.” or something like that. He insists that even though he never gets up with either kid that he still gets tired because _my_ getting up wakes him up! I’ll keep the expletives to myself.) I’m going to cast on for Soleil in my Classic Elite Venue, and perhaps even the “Raglan Tansy Tee” eventually, since I have a huge amount of this yarn!

4 Responses to “112460048894024505”


  1. August 21, 2005 at 10:18 am

    Hah! My Dh uses the same line on me. Riiiiiiiiight….my getting out of bed causes him to roll over and *maybe* open an eye. What’s that, 15 seconds of semi-wakefullness? Ummm…I’m up a minimum of 30 minutes 2x a night. No comparison.

    BTW I re-started my Silk Corset. I’m determined to knit this thing even if I have to rework the pattern myself! Only 4 rows in and already frustrated, but I”m gritting my teeth!

  2. August 21, 2005 at 9:17 pm

    He’s been complaining about it all day. I’m not happy.

    Good luck on the Silk Corset! For me the first few rows were the hardest and it was so annoying to have to restart, but now I’m going along slowly but well.

  3. August 22, 2005 at 1:50 pm

    what kind of yarn is that? looks like it will make a very nice tank. Sorr y head to frog your nuit. Sucks, but turns out it was for the better.
    Good luck on the silk corset (to both of you)

  4. August 22, 2005 at 2:06 pm

    Thanks! It’s Classic Elite Venue, which I got from Little Knits because I was obsessed with buying a cone of yarn (now I have two) and it was 50% off. So I have this huge amount of yarn. It is an interesting feel, like a polyesther suit or something, almost knitting with fabric, but I think it will make a nice, classy top. So far so good on the second try.

    How is your Corset going? Were you almost done? I can’t remember. I do enjoy it so I want to work on it, but I also want to do new projects so I’m torn!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

  • @murrayv @jimmy_dore @mentalpod Great episode! 3 of my favorite comedians/podcasters on the same stage! 1 week ago
  • RT @GeorgeTakei: The lack of any outrage over the use of private emails by Trump's closest advisors shows that it never never was about her… 1 week ago
  • RT @TheGoodGodAbove: A week has passed since the Las Vegas massacre of 58 people. The USA has done nothing and is no longer talking about… 1 week ago
  • They did it *again*! @bigbangtheory's "scientists" said that "we" (Bernadette and Howard) are pregnant? That is not physically possible!!!! 3 weeks ago
  • @TheGoodGodAbove God, why did you make people that refuse to remember even a few years ago? Or can't open a history book? Or the internet? 1 month ago

