17
Aug
05

112433827689401576

Let’s see, today, hmmm … well, I did bring my Silk Corset with me everywhere since it is the only WIP I can actually find, but I didn’t get much done. I did do a few of the “twisted stitches” (I personally haven’t heard of this technique but I’m finding lately that I come across as stupid when I ask questions so let’s just move on from this subject …) and they were pretty easy. I do my M1s as knit through the front and back so I’m pretty comfortable with manipulating one stitch more than once and I do cabling fine. Anyway, I think Chart D will be fine if I get a chance to work on it.

Also, after walking many times past the new “Petite Lingerie” store near me (I’m not quite sure why it’s called that since it looks normal to me) and another boutique I’m motivated to make a tank/camisole. So I’m swatching my Classic Elite Venue yet again (when I pulled out my Minisweater #1 I finally have a cord to use my size 5s on!) to see if it works with the Last Minute Knitted Gifts’ Silk Camisole. Of course it will be black, as all self-respecting lingerie is!

After pulling apart my Minisweater #2 I actually was enjoying how the makeshift stripes were turning out (black and white yarn on white on black yarn, if that makes any sense), so I’m sad to see that project go, even though the Rowan DK Marl is pretty scratchy. I’m not sure what I’m going to use those 3 skeins of it for at this point.

I was up all night last night with IM so I probably should go to bed, but damnit, my swatch is calling my name!

2 Responses to “112433827689401576”


  1. August 17, 2005 at 11:26 pm

    Y’know I was standing by that train wreck (on the group board) and I have to say that you DO NOT sound stupid when asking questions.

    I’m a little disillusioned with the pattern ‘support’ for the SC, considering it’s a pay-for pattern! I’ve seen better support for free patterns….I mean, how many revisions will it take before you realize that maybe the pattern needs some serious re-writing and/or editing?
    /end rant

    Don’t give up on your SC- I want to see it! Maybe it’ll give me some umpfh to actually start mine.

  2. August 18, 2005 at 2:56 pm

    Thank you so much for the encouragement! I’ve had very little lately! (And wasn’t impressed that someone had to comment on her blog about other knitalongers potential charting problems.) I think I’m getting the hang of this pattern, after realizing that the descriptions are all wrong, and the charts have no key. You should pick yours up again, it is fun to try all these new things even if it doesn’t fit after all the work. It can be considered art then!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother


