01
Aug
05

112293375965273188

Strangely enough, when I was younger I worked briefly for a temp company, and one of my jobs was to work at a Tuesday Morning in Silver Spring, MD (or was it Rockville?) and help them restock. This was when they were only open in preparation for the Christmas holidays.

Now that the Cotton Ease excitement has either ended or has gone the way of the poncho (that is, is on the way out) I finally decided to just see if we had any here in Northern California. I knew that people were finding great treasures at their local Tuesday Mornings but I just assumed we didn’t have any here.

So after the umpteenth person saying on their blog that they emptied out Tuesday Morning of their Cotton Ease, I finally bit the bullet and did a search. I was amazed to find out that not only did we have a few Tuesday Mornings here in Northern California, but one is in our downtown!

Of course I had to run over and see what the fuss was all about. Ours is very nondescript. There is a small canopy indicating that the store is there, but that’s about that. So I took two kids inside, scanned around quickly for any yarn section, and found a “craft” area of sorts. There actually was a few skeins of Cotton Ease, but in bright yellow and orange. The scary thing is I really do like Cotton Ease, but I don’t think I can find anything to do with bright yellow and orange.

However, if anyone really wants bright yellow or orange Cotton Ease and wants me to get it for them, I’d be happy to. Or if you want to trade it for some nice black or red Cotton Ease …

(I won’t go into the fiasco of the next closest Tuesday Morning. Suffice it to say I won’t be going there ever again.)

5 Responses to “112293375965273188”


  1. 1 Lu
    August 1, 2005 at 3:33 pm

    Where did you go?
    I went to the one in RC a couple of times, but it’s so depressing ……

  2. August 1, 2005 at 4:07 pm

    You just want the yellow and orange Cotton Ease, don’t you? 😉 I went to the San Mateo one. It was much nicer than the one in RWC. That one is much larger but depressing, yes, and doesn’t have as much interesting stuff. I did leave with some Legos and plan to go back around Christmas and birthdays since they had a good set of discounted Legos.

  3. August 1, 2005 at 4:08 pm

    Also, supposedly there is one in Sunnyvale.

  4. August 1, 2005 at 10:39 pm

    Tuesday Morning is *always* scary. I love a bargin as much as the next girl (after all, money saved on sheets means more $$ for yarn, right?), but TM is such a train wreck that I can’t deal. Especially not with kiddos in tow. Brave woman!

  5. 5 Emy
    August 3, 2005 at 11:10 am

    If you’re up for a bit of a road trip (and really desperately want the Cotton Ease), there’s a Beverly’s that just opened up on Camden Ave in San Jose. About a month ago, I went there, and they had a whole column of Cotton Ease, at least 10 balls of each of maybe 10 different colors? Quite a few, at any rate.

    Of course, that was a month ago, and maybe they’ve been cleaned out since then.–>


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

  • @murrayv @jimmy_dore @mentalpod Great episode! 3 of my favorite comedians/podcasters on the same stage! 1 week ago
  • RT @GeorgeTakei: The lack of any outrage over the use of private emails by Trump's closest advisors shows that it never never was about her… 1 week ago
  • RT @TheGoodGodAbove: A week has passed since the Las Vegas massacre of 58 people. The USA has done nothing and is no longer talking about… 1 week ago
  • They did it *again*! @bigbangtheory's "scientists" said that "we" (Bernadette and Howard) are pregnant? That is not physically possible!!!! 3 weeks ago
  • @TheGoodGodAbove God, why did you make people that refuse to remember even a few years ago? Or can't open a history book? Or the internet? 1 month ago

