06
Jul
05

112071557828708690

So who else thinks Knitty needs to stay away from the theme issues? Well at least I do. The “sexy” or whatever issue was a bit too much for me (I don’t even like Twizzlers), but I had more hope for the Man Issue. Wow, how cutting edge it turned out — sweaters, sweaters, and more sweaters. My super-secret project that I had attempted to submit for that issue would have been more original than a lot of the things that were accepted.

I will say that the man’s kimono was interesting, and the cigar gloves are at least something I haven’t seen before (but what if you set them on fire while you’re smoking? And do you cut off the fingers of your smoking hand only and not the other? I’m not curious enough to look it up.), but many, many sweaters? And a baby blanket? As the mother of 3 boys, I was underwhelmed.

5 Responses to “112071557828708690”


  1. July 7, 2005 at 8:20 am

    Yeah, in the end it was kind of ho-hum, but I do think the drunken argyle was a creative idea. That could be applied to other things.

    Heidi/stepintomythimble.com

  2. July 8, 2005 at 10:00 am

    It sucked. A lot. There was nothng new or innovative. Hello… anchor? WTF? I liked the concept of the drunken argyle, but it looked sloppy. All of the sweaters look like they would take a YEAR to knit. What’s up with that male hallowig? All it needs is bobbles or something equally retarded.

    I liked the baby pants, but that’s about it.

  3. July 8, 2005 at 3:20 pm

    I was very underwhelmed, too. My husband was not a fan of a single sweater. He’s a bit more of a traditional dresser than most guys but he usually says “I like that” even though I know he wouldn’t wear it.
    When I saw the drunken argyle, I immediately thought that someone would think “that person obviously doesn’t know how to knit argyle.”

    The baby pants were cute, but I’m not sure my friends would put them on their babies.

  4. 4 Lu
    July 10, 2005 at 1:34 pm

    my comment: blaaaaa.
    knitted pants? yeah, right, all the work for something the baby is going to leak in? I don’t think so!

  5. July 11, 2005 at 12:39 pm

    I agree thoroughly. Deeply disappointing. And I also agree on the sexy issue. Didn’t quite work for me. I guess the editors think the readers would be bored every season without a few thematic issues, but I think it’s the other way ’round. sigh.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

  • @murrayv @jimmy_dore @mentalpod Great episode! 3 of my favorite comedians/podcasters on the same stage! 1 week ago
  • RT @GeorgeTakei: The lack of any outrage over the use of private emails by Trump's closest advisors shows that it never never was about her… 1 week ago
  • RT @TheGoodGodAbove: A week has passed since the Las Vegas massacre of 58 people. The USA has done nothing and is no longer talking about… 1 week ago
  • They did it *again*! @bigbangtheory's "scientists" said that "we" (Bernadette and Howard) are pregnant? That is not physically possible!!!! 3 weeks ago
  • @TheGoodGodAbove God, why did you make people that refuse to remember even a few years ago? Or can't open a history book? Or the internet? 1 month ago

