28
Apr
05

111474424674824041

To all of you librarians and especially current library students out there: have any of you noticed that Amazon is adding more and more products and/or searching capabilities? I was doing a search today (it is scaring me that I thought to search Amazon first rather than the hassle of doing a database search through my school) and noticed that they offer copies of journal articles through PDF or HTML files. Has anyone’s library school discussed the future of libraries when we have the same services for sale on Amazon?

It’s very timely since I was just lamenting yesterday that I have been a stay-at-home mom for 5 1/2 years now and I am nervous about going back to work when I can (in 2 1/2 years …). I don’t feel like I really made my mark when I was in libraries before and doubt that after having 3 kids to deal with I’ll be able to have much of a career then either. It’s really depressing, or maybe I’m just exhausted after being kept awake by at least one kid every night for 4 weeks …

2 Responses to “111474424674824041”


  1. May 1, 2005 at 4:56 pm

    I’ve been thinking about your post for a while. When I was in library skool (1998-2000) we didn’t have as much of the Amazon development to contend with, and Google was still a cool new search tool. But the big talk was all about competing with actual bookstores like Borders, and how some libraries were actually considering installing a coffee shop to entice visitors. It is a tough time for libraries, in a world where profits are more important than anything else…

    Heidi
    Step Into My Thimble

  2. May 1, 2005 at 7:14 pm

    When I was in library school way back in 1992-1994 we didn’t have all of that to contend with either. I’m pretty sure that the main branch of San Francisco Public Library has put in some sort of coffee place since I worked there but it is weird to me since it was ingrained in us how bad food and/or bugs were to the books and to have them in the same space was wrong. Now kids bring their snack into the library and eat right out in the open.

    I’m really wondering what it does for Amazon and/or Google to add all of these texts into their system, does it really make that much money? And are we even going to have libraries as such in the future? I read on some website recently that the theory that there is a shortage of librarians is just an urban legend. All I need is more pressure for when I return to work in 2 1/2 years!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

April 2005
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

