14
Mar
05

111084081124776575

So I still don’t get the obsession with Knitty’s “Clapotis” — it seems like everyone out there is knitting this scarf/shawl, except me. I have, however, succumbed to the peer pressure and just ordered The Girl from Auntie’s “Rogue” pattern. It is a really beautiful hooded pullover with a cable design on the sleeves and hood. I’ve seen two bloggers that have finished it and I can’t wait to do it. Not that I’ve done more than 2 or 3 repeats on a cable pattern before, but I hope I can still do it.

Not to mention I just bought a few patterns from “Iknitiative” and “Knitability” so I’d better do them too. So many patterns, so little yarn, time and/or hand strength (I type a lot and have repetitive strain injury as well).

I also started the “Cuff to Cuff Jacket” from my Knitting Pattern a Day calendar. Unfortunately I don’t think I have enough scraps to do much with it for awhile. Anyone want to forward on their scraps so I can add them to my jacket?

3 Responses to “111084081124776575”


  1. March 15, 2005 at 2:51 pm

    I don’t understand the whole Clapotis thing either. I won’t make one, its okay, but not all that!

  2. March 21, 2005 at 6:00 am

    After I knitted my clapotis, I felt this weird disconnection to it. I didn’t like the color, I didn’t get the shaping. But once I gave it a college try draping it and wearing it, I fell in love with it fast and hard. It makes these wonderful drapes and shapes over your shoulders, around your neck. It’s just incredibly elegant and versatile. And the pattern itself is kinda lovely. But I do agree that there’s a curious hype surrounding the pattern.
    What sort of scraps are you looking for? I’d be game to send you stuff!

  3. March 31, 2005 at 1:32 pm

    Thanks! I’m just going to do dark colors in worsted weight, I think. I had just been using all of my scraps, but decided I hated one yarn enough that I just threw it away. (The Knitaly I used for my first socks.) Now I have to restart the jacket.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

March 2005
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

