07
Mar
05

111025139012783614

Research is hard. I’m glad I have another 2 1/2 years before I have to go back to work because I can barely deal with one class a semester. I’m taking “Seminar in Theory and Research” (I know, very exciting, but for us librarian-types it is interesting), and I have to, I think, write a research proposal, not the actual research, which involves a 5 page paper and a 15 page paper. I have a couple of topics I have researched in the past: video game sound, sound aesthetics, and college radio, but I don’t feel a need to work on those yet again. Of course I would love to write a paper on covers but I’m not motivated to do that now either.

So of course I pick a topic that doesn’t have much scholarly research (story of my life) and I just can’t get myself to sit at the computer and look at the non-scholarly resarch (“Time” articles and the like) either. I hate reading on the computer, unless it is knitting blogs and then I can’t get off the computer. But today when I thought I actually had to go to the library to find a copy of something (blasphemy!) I was depressed because I didn’t know how I would be able to find the time with two kids around at least at all times. Luckily I found full text, but I’m not sure if it will count for my assignment which is due next week.

One of the articles I had to read recently was on how people feel about the president based on their watching the show “The West Wing”. (The scary thing was that only two of us in our class had even watched the show!) I passed it to DH because he follows the show, and he said that he didn’t know if he wanted to go back to school because reading that article was hard! (This from the person who now reads “The New Scientist”, “Business Week”, and “The Economist” cover to cover.)

Believe it or not I fantasize (boy am I boring!) about writing a thesis and/or getting a PhD in Library Science and specializing in copyright/intellectual property. I guess that would involve actually finishing this class, and perhaps writing tons, so maybe I should reconsider?

2 Responses to “111025139012783614”


  1. March 8, 2005 at 10:56 am

    Sounds like a bummer. Let me know if I can help. I might have a bit of experience with research. 😉


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

  • @murrayv @jimmy_dore @mentalpod Great episode! 3 of my favorite comedians/podcasters on the same stage! 1 week ago
  • RT @GeorgeTakei: The lack of any outrage over the use of private emails by Trump's closest advisors shows that it never never was about her… 1 week ago
  • RT @TheGoodGodAbove: A week has passed since the Las Vegas massacre of 58 people. The USA has done nothing and is no longer talking about… 1 week ago
  • They did it *again*! @bigbangtheory's "scientists" said that "we" (Bernadette and Howard) are pregnant? That is not physically possible!!!! 3 weeks ago
  • @TheGoodGodAbove God, why did you make people that refuse to remember even a few years ago? Or can't open a history book? Or the internet? 1 month ago
March 2005
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

