20
Feb
05

110894765296723486

Someone else had an eventful night as well.

It has been hard my whole life having a difficult to spell and pronounce name (Elspeth), and even though I knew there were other Elspeths out there, I had never met one. Until 1995 or so, when I was at a library convention (party hard!) and heard someone call out “Elspeth”. When I turned around they were calling someone else! It was surreal.

Then, at my job I get some mail left for me, addressed to “Elspeth” but not my last name — apparently there was an Elspeth working upstairs from me. I went up to deliver the mail but she wasn’t there.

So now I get obsessed with knitting, blogging, etc. I am checking out a knitalong I was thinking of joining (it was already over), and see the name “Elspeth”. I know it’s not me. This is how I discovered not only another Elspeth, but one who knits and works in a library!

I then discovered another listing for an Elspeth in a knitalong, but this isn’t the same one! She is not only named Elspeth but is in Maryland, where I spent many of my formative years. My friend Sarah also knits and recently started at Johns Hopkins, where this Elspeth goes to school, so I emailed the other Elspeth and told her I’m also Elspeth, I also knit, oh, and I have a friend at your school who knits and you just might come in contact with. (Unrelated note: the last time I met a Johns Hopkins student I asked him about the only other Johns Hopkins student I knew, he actually knew him, so I figured it wasn’t out of the question that they’d meet.)

Last night Sarah went out with a friend, met said friend’s friend from high school who was, of course, Elspeth! So now poor Sarah has to differentiate between two Elspeths!

3 Responses to “110894765296723486”


  1. February 22, 2005 at 12:55 pm

    You are way ahead of me. My Elspeth experience has been just mostly me, and now you, and that other Maryland Knitting Elspeth. A handful of writers and actresses, and a set of sheets by Laura Ashley.
    Hoorah for us!

  2. February 22, 2005 at 1:48 pm

    Not to mention the Edward Gorey drawing of an Elspeth in his line of murderesses!

    Actually, a really weird one for me is the movie “The Winter Guest” when the mother is named Elspeth and the daughter is Frances, which just happens to be my sister’s name!

  3. February 22, 2005 at 2:14 pm

    And don’t forget Elspeth in the new Rowan Magazine.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

February 2005
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

