13
Nov
04

110038983381573755

So I’ve decided to make this blog more about everything in my life rather than just my knitting projects. I have actually been doing a lot of knitting that I haven’t had a chance to comment on, since I am busy knitting all the time and not near the computer. For example, last month I went to a “no presents” party (the first of 3 we’ve been invited two within a month) and of course everyone brought a present. So I got the idea on the way home that I should make a poncho for the girl who had the party. I started that project the next day and it took me awhile to finish it, especially since I tested it out on DS1 and it was almost falling off of him, so I ended up making a smaller neckline and then having to finish it up and take it to the post office. I finally mailed it a couple of days ago. I really hope she likes it since her mom is so sweet and we have known her since the kids were 2 1/2 or so.

Currently I’m working on my own poncho and the never ending baby blanket I hope to finish for DS3 sometime before he turns 18.

Outside of knitting, which I can really only do in the car these days, I have been dealing slowly with the challenge of being a stay at home mom of 3 boys from 7 weeks to 4 1/2. Luckily DS1 is in school every weekday (when they don’t have a day off, like they did yesterday), so I only have to deal with DS2 and DS3 all day by myself, and Owen naps for 2 hours a day still.

My c-section wound is almost healed, about 8 weeks postpartum, which is nice. With a huge kid to carry around (Owen) and a baby to deal with, not being up to speed is not an option.

I had started my real estate broker’s classes before Ian was born and am halfway done, but haven’t had a chance to get back into it since then. Basically, Brad went back to work and I started working with my mom (who is also in real estate, in Maryland) and have been doing that since then, so I haven’t had any free time to work on my last 4 classes.

I am kind of depressed because I am worried about when I can finally get back to work (2-3 years from now) since I haven’t had any library experience since I was pregnant with Devon in 1999, and there just might not be any jobs since we are still in the Bay Area. Of course today I noticed that the College of San Mateo, a few miles from us, is looking for on-call librarians (which I used to do for San Francisco Public Libraries). I’d love to apply but I have a halfway done Master’s, an infant and a toddler to take care of, and many other obstacles to my working outside the house. I’m just worried that when I can finally get back to work there will be none.

On a better note, Owen is talking more and more. Today he said “sushi”!

0 Responses to “110038983381573755”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

November 2004
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

