05
Aug
12

Summer Sunshine

Well, believe it or not, my summer is already over.

Last year my kids started in our local schools and our neighborhood school is in the year round program.  Personally, I’m not a fan of the year round schedule, but I don’t really want to change their schools since they’re doing pretty well.  Anyway, we got out of school on June 22 and started again on August 1st!  Back when we had a summer I hated summer because we couldn’t afford to send them to camp all summer. Now we could afford to to that, but we don’t have summer! :(

The 5 weeks the kids had off was pretty fun, though.  We went to San Diego to celebrate my mom and aunt (father’s sister)’s 70th birthdays, and my sister and husband’s 40th birthdays.  I got a lot of knitting time during our long drive (normally about 9 hours but it took us 12 to get back :( )  Then the weekend afterwards we went up to Fort Bragg, CA to go on the Skunk Train (and of course Mendocino Yarn Shop!).  That meant another 4 hour drive (each way) and a 4 hour total train ride to knit!

Needless to say, I finished my second Camp Loopy project.  It’s a really fun one, and I would seriously consider making it again.  It’s Elfe, and I used 2 skeins of Cascade Heritage sock yarn, in 2 different reds.

Elfe

1 Response to “Summer Sunshine”


  1. August 5, 2012 at 10:03 pm

    Elfe looks really good. I love it! :) Ya know, I’m not even on a year round schedule but I may as well be. We didn’t get much time off either when you factor in having to work on narratives and doing an entire week of professional development. I got about the same amount of time off as your kids did!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

August 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

