23
May
12

Whatever You Like

It’s that time, another Ten on Tuesday!;

This week, it’s “10 Things You Wish You Liked”:

1. Sports.  Life would be so much easier for me if I had any interest in playing or watching sports.  Both as a person and as the mother of boys.  I have some interest in some sports, but that only extends to playing them.  Sometimes. I’ve always liked tennis, but haven’t played it in years. I liked learning Bocce recently, and I love bowling.  But paying for and/or sitting and watching a game is not for me.  I feel bad too that I’m not interested enough to get my kids into it (although I did try to get them into tennis a few years ago, and karate), but my husband doesn’t like sports either.

2. Dogs.  I’m a cat person.  I don’t dislike dogs as much as I get annoyed by some attributes of dog owners.  And there is definitely a backlash against cats by some dog owners which makes me extra frustrated with them sometime.  But again, I feel like my life would be so much easier if I liked dogs and had a dog I could use to meet other people and have a reason to socialize with them. But I don’t.

3. Church.  This is another one of those “I wasn’t brought up with it and it would have been so much better socially for me if I were” experiences.  My husband is actively an Atheist so he’s no help either.  I’d love to have a group of people to do stuff with, but I can’t bring myself to join a church to do it.

4. Throwing parties. I love to be invited to parties, and I’d love to get together with people more, but I’m just never going to be the person who just throws a soiree together at the spur of the moment. I’d love to be that comfortable with inviting people over or organizing events.

5. Technology.  Living in the Silicon Valley, technology seems to be everywhere: even the English majors are now “Senior Software Engineers” and everyone knows all the programming languages and cares about the latest product or website coming out that is going to change our lives. I don’t get it, and never will.  And I’d love to be good with working with technology and be up on all the new companies, because I do want to get a new job sometime soon.

6. Video games.  We are a huge gaming family (our rent and amenities have always come from video game companies as well) and I like word games, but that is the extent of it.  I will never be interested in most of the games that come out, and I feel, like with general technology, like I want to fit in, but so far it’s not sticking with me.

7. Sci-Fi/Fantasy books and comic books and TV.  I love TV. I have in the past gotten into certain sci-fi popular shows and movies, but for the most part I’m just lost when it comes to virtual worlds and things that aren’t realistic. I’ve always been drawn to people that like sci-fi and fantasy and games and comics, but I myself never really get into them.

8. Knitting socks.  I used to knit socks, but at some point I decided I didn’t like it, and now I can’t bring myself to deal with sock knitting, sock yarn, etc.  It’s a large subculture within the knitting community that I would love to be able to be a part of, but I just can’t bring myself to do it.  I’m actively thinking if/how I can get over my distaste of sock knitting to go to Sock Summit for the express purpose of hanging out with knitters, but I’m doubtful.  Where’s my “Sweater Summit”? ;)

9. Vegetables.  I know they’re good for me, and I’m getting so much better with them, but I still really don’t like most vegetables. I can’t believe I’m starting to actually eat them by choice a bit more lately, mostly because I really need to lose weight and I know they’re good for that (if you don’t chase them with bread or chocolate, I hear ;) )

10. (Borrowed from Sarah) Talking on the phone.  Once I get talking I like talking to people on the phone, but for the most part I dread making phone calls and prefer to just go somewhere and get something done in person (texting and email being even better). It’s just a shyness thing, I think, but I really avoid it as much as possible, even if people call me I’ll often ignore it and call when I feel like I’m in the right situation to talk to them.

1 Response to “Whatever You Like”


  1. June 7, 2012 at 10:05 pm

    If it makes you feel any better, I’ve gone to church most of my life and I wouldn’t do something with half of them. (OTOH, the seniors are the most fun!)


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

