23
Dec
06

My parents are visiting from Maryland and we’re doing our first all-grandparent holiday tomorrow, which should be interesting. When my kids were born I decided we would have Christmas at our house so my MIL always comes here, but now my parents are here too so it is kind of strange. Today I got a haircut (why do hairdressers always do the wrong thing? I find them to be much too hesitant in some ways and overzealous in others.) where I went in wanting to have long hair with layers, and I came out with short hair with one or two layer-y things in the front. If I could ever figure out my Mac camera I could take a self portrait. But another thing I discovered while sitting in front of a mirror for an hour is that 1) I’m fat and 2) I have more wrinkles than my mom so I’m not that excited about taking pictures right now.Except pictures of inanimate objects. If Norovember did nothing, it at least convinced me to bring my Lucky Number sweater out of hiding. So far I’ve stitched up the sides and knit the neckline. Yesterday I picked up 98 stitches for the bottom ribbing so I’ll see how it goes. I hope it fits, since I was maybe 10 lbs. lighter when I created this pattern. Damn chocolate.

Last week when I was in my beading frenzy I found a working watch face, and made a watch. Then I wore it to my MIL’s house and it broke. Well, yesterday I restrung one side, but I’m too worried about wearing it and having it break again. I may try it tomorrow since I’ll be home in case it breaks. I do like it, though, and it took me about 4 iterations to get it the right length.

Have a happy and safe holiday!


0 Responses to “”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

  • Something very strange is going on in the living room - I hear talking into that portable computer we all carry around. 1 day ago
  • I don't want to be like everyone else in Starbucks and be staring at my phone but I have words games to play ;) 1 day ago
  • @GregWarren Or, "I sent it 3x and you never got it, then you emailed me back in a huff" - customer service agent woes :( 3 weeks ago
  • @JennyCraig Almond extract is *not* almond flavored. It ruins baked goods like your "cherry walnut" bar. Almond extract in a "walnut" bar? 3 weeks ago
  • When noticing the lights just went on in the pool: "I didn't know it was going to glow!" - - Ian, 9 3 weeks ago
December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

